China: OCT Loft Offers Breathing Room for Creative Industries
Hong Kong: How (and Where) to Eat Hamburgers Without the Guilt

Australia: Sydney to Host Netball World Cup


A total of 16 national teams will vie for the championship of the 14th edition of the Netball World Cup, which will take place in Sydney, Australia, from 7 to 16 August 2015 .


Austrlian netball fans show their colours. Photo Credit: Australia Government, Department of Health.


Sixteen national teams will compete in the 14th edition of the Netball World Cup, which will be held in Sydney, Australia, from 7 to 16 August 2015.

The following nations will compete in a total of 64 netball matches: Australia, Barbados, England, Fiji, Jamaica, Malawi, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Uganda, Wales, and Zambia

The 16 teams will be divided into 4 pools, with the top-ranked teams guaranteed to go head-to-head in the preliminary rounds.

All of the netball matches will be held at Sydney Olympic Park.

This will be the first time Australia has hosted international netball’s pinnacle event since 1991, when Michelle den Dekker captained her home team to a famous 53-52 victory over New Zealand in what was then known as the World Netball Championships.

Return to Main Page

Talking Points

Have you ever played netball? What do you think of it as a sport?

Please post your comment in the Comment Box below or on Facebook at the following link: Accidental Travel Writer on Facebook. And don't forget to LIKE us while you're there!